Puerco Pibil




Puerco Pibil

Originally uploaded by nicholas.richardson

I had a go of Roberto Rodregiuez’s Puerco Pibil, (a recipe included in the “10 Minute cooking school” of his Once Upon a Time in Mexico the other night. Unfortunately, Brisbane does not have a supply of mexican ingredients comparable to that of south west USA. In particular I struggled to find the annatto seeds, habenero peppers and (surprisingly) the banana leaves.

I eventually made do with achiote paste and a habenero sauce found at a continental grocers and found the banana leaves at the last of three asian grocers that I went to.

These substitutions led to a few variations in the recipe. Since the achiote paste included other things beside the annatto seeds it was based on I pretended this was equivalent to about 1/4 of the vineger. As for the sauce that I picked up I had no idea what was in it so guessed that maybe half would do. Also I gave a few dashes extra of this and that liquid – tequilla and lemon juice – in order to counter the many suggestions that Rodregiuez’s recipe resulted in a too dry pibil.

The result was delicious but I thought that it could of done with the whole 120mls of habernero sauce. I have never used tequilla in cooking before and was a bit worried since I usually associate the smell with less savioury smells that usually surround its consumption. This dish, however demonstrated the folly in such thought.

This is Rodrigeuz’s recipe…


About barkingcoins
This author is just another fucking dickhead.

Leave a Reply

