Malai Koftas for Judy

Malai kofta

4 potatoes
1 medium carrot
3/4 Danish havarti
1+1/2 tbls sour cream
1 tsp cumin powder
1 tsp coriander powder
1/2 tsp chilli powder
1/2 cup cashews
1/4 tsp salt
(for the sauce)
2 large onions
10 cherry tomatoes or 2 large tomatoes
3 cloves garlic crushed
2 tsp coriander powder
1 tblsp cumin powder
1/2 tsp red chilli powder
1 tsp poppy seeds
3 tbls cashews
1/2 cup water

1. Mix the cheese and cashews together.
2. Steam the potatoes and carrot. Then mash together with spices, cream and 1/4 of the cheese and nut mix.
3. Form the potatoes into 4 balls with a portion of the cheese and nut mix in the middle of each (the centre of the sphere that is the ball)
4. Fry the balls in excess oil until they are lightly browned then set aside on absorbant paper.
5. Deep fry the poppy seeds then grind into a paste. Set aside.
6. Fry the onions until they are browned.
7. Combine onions, poppy seed paste, tomatoes, garlic, spices and cashews and blend until smooth.
8. Bring the sauce to a simmer and cook for two minutes. Then add the water and stir through until an even consistency is reached.
9. add the koftas and serve when heated through.

notes:
Instead of using cumin powder I used cumin seeds dry fried and ground up – they could alter the taste so if the spice doesn’t seem right try doing that instead of using normal ground cumin… to ‘dry fry’ put the cumin seeds in a pan without oil and cook until they go a nice dark color -more brown than black though – and are nicely fragrant, but not burn smelling…

Also the bloody koftas fell apart when I fried them. The collapse wasn’t catastrophic just annoying – a couple end up having a rupture that resulted in fried cheese being stuck to one side (still to decide if this was bad or good). I think that this was mainly due to the cheese being in the middle, perhaps using a firmer cheese, less cheese or no cheese in the middle of the koftas would fix this. But also, when I fired them they stuck to the bottom of the pan and because they weren’t coved in oil I had to turn them – leading to some collapsing going on. So the problem could be solved with improved frying ‘technique’.

About barkingcoins
This author is just another fucking dickhead.

4 Responses to Malai Koftas for Judy

  1. Blue Athena says:

    Very interesting to read how this might be done. And a nice confirmation of my decision to stick to the freezer boxes at my local market. That’s WAY beyond my 5 ingredient limit.

    Good luck on your next effort. Why did you choose to use Danish cheese (just curious)?

  2. barkingcoins says:

    I went with the danish cheese mainly because of the choice of cheeses in my fridge… there was only mature cheddar and the Havarti. I felt that the bitiness of cheddar just didn’t seem to sit mentally well with the idea of the taste of the kofta spices. Plus the texture of havarti seemed more appropriate. in short a mild and creamy cheese was chosen over more harder and more bity types.

    Normally when using a cheese in a dish with indian style dishes I would go for cottage cheese… but if I did that in this case I think the ‘structural issues’ would have been catastrophic.

    BTW: in an effort to simplify this I think you could probably find a kofta spice mix… although what would really help would be a suitable paste mix for the sauce…and I can’t recall if I have ever seen one for sale…but then again I don’t know what they would call such a paste…

  3. Blue Athena says:

    Ah…the “it was in the refrigerator” explanation. 🙂

    I think I’ve seen paneer at the Indian market. Is that what you meant by cottage cheese, or did you mean the lumpy liquidy stuff? I’ve never bought paneer…but I’m guessing it would be the ideal?

    Yes, a jar of “kofta spice” may be more up my alley. That would get it down to cheese, beans, cashews, kofta spice, water, potaoes… hmmm…alost down to five. And a jar of “kofta sauce” maybe? OK, I think I’ve just about ruined your recipe with laziness. Anyway, sounds very good.

  4. barkingcoins says:

    …I have never been pulled up on the interchangeability of cottage cheese and paneer… but paneer is what you should go for and what I meant.

Leave a Reply

